What Are Chakras and How Can You Unlock Them?

palm springs resort, image of chakras

What Are Chakras and How Can You Unlock Them?

You’ve probably heard of chakras before, either through a friend, media, or through a yoga class. Chakra is a Sanskrit word that refers to the primary energy centers in the human body. The concept dates as far back as 1500 BC and has been passed down for generations.

There are seven chakras in your body along your spine. Each of these chakras corresponds to a body part and your emotional, psychological, spiritual, and psychological well-being. When you open these chakras, healing energy (prana) flows through your body and makes you happy and healthy.

Types of Chakras

The Root Chakra: This chakra is found at the base of your spine. It represents a sturdy and supportive foundation in you. When it’s unlocked, you can be confident and survive by yourself. Your financial independence, emotional needs, basic needs and safety are all tied to the root chakra. When locked, issues such as anxiety, depression and lower abdomen illnesses persist in your life.

Sacral Chakra: This chakra is found at your lower abdomen, just two inches below the navel. It controls your sexuality, pleasure, creativity, and emotions. When this chakra is locked, you will experience a lack of control over your life as addiction or depression.

Solar Plexus: This chakra is found in the upper abdomen, and controls your confidence, self-esteem, and worth. When this chakra is blocked, you experience shame and self-doubt. You will feel bad about yourself, and it will affect your discipline and cause anger and control issues.

Heart Chakra: This chakra is found in the middle of your chest. It serves as the bridge for your lower and upper chakras. The heart chakra affects your ability to give and to receive love from others in your life. If this chakra is blocked, you will have trouble opening up, and also lack empathy and compassion. Opening this chakra helps you love better.

Throat Chakra: As the name suggests, the throat chakra is found in your throat. It controls your ability to communicate and express yourself. When it’s unlocked, your throat chakra helps you to talk openly and speak the truth. However, if your chakra is blocked, you will have trouble finding the right words or telling the truth.

Third Eye Chakra: This chakra is found between your eyebrows. It controls your intuition, wisdom, and imagination. When this chakra is open, you can see information beyond the surface. It becomes easy for you to create visions.

The last chakra is the Crown Chakra. It’s found on your crown and represents your ability to be connected fully spiritually. Accessing your crown chakra means that you’ve unlocked other chakras, which many people find extremely hard to accomplish. When your crown chakra is opened, you can access a higher consciousness.

Unlocking Your Chakras

Learning how to open your chakras requires a peaceful and meditative environment. The Spring Resort and Spa provides you with a relaxing atmosphere and guidance during your meditation and yoga. With us, you can unlock your chakras while enjoying your vacation at our Palm Springs Resort.